Skip to content
September 15, 2011 / mandalaymai

“I’m Shawn Spencer and this is my partner, MC Clap Yo Handz.” “With a Z.”

I know I should be prepping hardcore for the fall season.  I should be getting into midseason form.  And believe me I have.  I am like a dedicated Fantasy Footbal leaguer.  I have looked at the schedule.  I have chosen my starters, based both on past knowledge and hype assigned to the newbies.  I have accounted for trades (The Good Wife is on Sundays which threw off my whole gameplan.  But not as much as others, as they are cagily trying to steal the Desperate Housewives demographic before it has breathed its last and I don’t watch Desperate Housewives).  And I have carefully planned the pecking order on my main DVR AND my backup DVR.  I have shaken my head at the foolishness of TV execs who give us impossible choices and unlikely pairings. 

But, even as all this is going on, a not-so-secret part of my brain has been fixated on October and the premiere of Psych.  I mean, I know I have written of the USA Network and Summer TV, but oh, those clever bastards!  They pushed my FAVORITE of these shows to the fall.  To the BIG TIME.  To air during the Sweeps Month.  And color me crazy, but these guys may take the lead in my DVR wars this October.  I can’t remember if Community ever did any kind of Mentalist spoof.  If they did, it would have been redundant, because Psych is the MORE awesome and hilarious spoof that  (if I am remembering correctly) actually PRE-DATED The Mentalist. 

The premise of the show is that a guy with observational skills right out of Sherlock Holmes and Simon Baker (though, once again, I really think they were first) is too Peter Pan, irresponsible and lazy to play by the rules.  But he can’t stop himself from helping.  So, how does he get around the rules?  He pretends to be psychic, natch.  James Roday(Shawn)  is SO brilliant at this deadpan Peter Pan (Peter DeadPan?) that he is always laugh out loud hilarious.  I mostly remember Dule Hill (Gus) as the inspiring, awesome and beautiful Charlie Young from the West Wing, but he is SO good in this role, so fully committed and so funny  that I NEVER ONCE think of Charlie when I am watching Gus.  And that is the best compliment I can give. 

I brought up Community before for a reason.  I think people my age are lucky when shows have showrunners and writers our age, because that means that all the pop culture references and inside jokes are of our generation and are ‘inside’ to us.  Psych can totally give Community a run for its money, pop culture reference-wise.  It is so dense with both obvious and obscure references that it takes multiple watchings to get it all.  They get awesome guest stars – one needs to only see Carl Weathers’ turn as a retired cop and the fact that these guys GOT AWAY with saying, “Gus, ring the bell.”  “Ding, Ding!”  To see how far they will go for the awesome.  And yet the story itself always makes sense and is entertaining.   In this past season especially, there were more dramatic than dramedic moments and these guys totally brought their A-game to that also.

My favorite parts?  Besides the fact that I just learned to play the theme song on the guitar?  Well, I have 2 and they are the same 2 as every Psych fan.  Shawn routinely gives Gus an absurd alias when introducing him to people.  And when Shawn tells Gus not to “be” a a certain way or a certain thing.  The more out there and random the better.  I am really, really, really hoping that the writers take my suggestion and do a ‘Fight Club’ themed episode so Shawn can say, “Gus, don’t be Jack’s raging bile duct.”

I can’t help myself, so see a list of the Gus aliases below!

  • Die Harder
  • Matt
  • Bighead Burton
  • Fingers
  • Home Skillet
  • Big Baby Burton
  • Burt The Billowy Bear
  • Blackstar
  • Chocolate Columbo
  • Magic Head
  • Slicks
  • Peter Panic
  • Gus “T.T” Showbiz (The extra T is for extra talent)
  • Ovaltine Jenkins
  • François
  • Schoonie “U-Turn” Singleton
  • Vernest Lambert Watkins
  • Bud
  • Nick Nack
  • Bruton Gaster
  • Lavender Gooms
  • Lemongrass Gogulope
  • Squirts Macintosh
  • Weepyboy Santos
  • Stewart Lee
  • Dr. Mc (clucking noises) Took.
  • Galileo Humpkins
  • Gus “Silly Pants” Jackson
  • Shmuel Cohen
  • Shutterfly Simmons
  • Methuselah Honeysuckle
  • Patty Simcox
  • Felicia Fancybottom
  • Ernesto Agapito Garces Con Y A De Abelar
  • Longbranhe Pennywhistle
  • Scrooge Jones
  • D’Andre Pride
  • Wally Ali
  • Art Vanderlay
  • Dequan “Smallpox” Randolph
  • Trapezius Milkington
  • Sterling Cooper
  • Burton “Oil Can” Guster
  • Hollabackatcha
  • Jazz Hands
  • Doughnut Holstein
  • Black Magic
  • Magic Eight Ball Head
  • Ghee Buttersnaps
  • Pinky Tuscadero
  • MC Clap yo Handz (with a ‘Z’)
  • (said by Shawn, who is white) My name is Black. His name is Tan. I can’t believe you just made that assumption. You should be ashamed of yourself and your family
  • Imhotep, or ‘He Cometh in Peace.’  Go on, show her your ‘Cometh in Peace’ face.
  • Control Alt Delete
Leave a Reply

